Parochial Church Council

The PCC (Parochial Church Council) is an elected body from those listed on the church electoral roll. This is the roll of lay-persons over 16 years of age who are baptised and actual communicant members of the Church of England or any church in communion with the Church of England.

The Synodical Government Measure 1969 sets out a number of functions of the PCC, of which the overarching one is:
"co-operation with the incumbent in promoting in the parish the whole mission of the Church, pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical."

PCC powers transferred in 1919 from the old 'vestry meetings' relate to
1. The financial management of the church.
2. The care, maintenance and insurance of the fabric of the church and its goods and ornaments.
3. The care and maintenance of the churchyard.

The PCC also has powers conferred on it (as distinct from those transferred) which include.
1. Acquiring, managing and administering property for the ecclesiastical purposes of the parish.
2. The power to frame an annual budget.
3. The power to levy and collect a voluntary church rate for church purposes.
4. The power to contact the Bishop with regard to any matter affecting the welfare of the parish church.

It also has joint power with the incumbent
1. to appoint or dismiss the parish clerk (secretary) and sexton and to determine the salaries and conditions of service of these officers.
2. to determine the objects for which monies collected in church are to be allocated.

In addition, the PCC has the "right to be consulted about the forms of worship used in the parish."

The members of the PCC of the church of St Mary the Virgin, Eardisland are:

Rev Julie Read (01568 708255 )
Rev Katie Smith

Richard Kirby: Churchwarden and Chairperson( 01544 388810 )
Liz Lever: Churchwarden ( 01544 388157 )
Annette Blyth: Deputy churchwarden and organist, 100 Club, Diocesan Synod Rep ( 01544 388241 )
Mike Coleburn: Treasurer, Electoral Roll registrar ( 01544 388486 )
Avis Denny: Secretary (01568 780874 )
Rosie Capon: Reader, Diocesan Synod Rep
John Hope
Joy Sabine
Lotty James
Melanie Roberts: Safeguarding manager